Discretionary hardship waivers APC Waivers: Publishers and Eligible Countries

Check your author team

Co-authors (where they work)

Only the country is needed: without a journal you get every publisher's result for your author team. Free. No sign-up. Uses the publishers' published rules, last verified 27 October 2026.

Publishers and journals using this scheme

Publisher or journalWhat it givesWhose affiliation countsOfficial source
ElsevierAutomatic 100% waiver for Research4Life Group A and 50% for Group B in fully open access journals, but only when every author is in an eligible countryEvery authorelsevier.com ↗
Springer Nature100% waiver for low-income countries and 50% for lower-middle income countries (World Bank list with a GDP limit), on request at submissionCorresponding author onlyspringernature.com ↗
SAGEAutomatic full waiver for Research4Life Group A and a discount for Group B, by the corresponding author's affiliationCorresponding author onlysagepub.com ↗
Oxford University PressAutomatic waiver or discount in fully open access journals by an EIFL and Research4Life based country listCorresponding author onlyacademic.oup.com ↗
Cambridge University PressAutomatic 100% waiver for Research4Life Group A and 50% for Group B through the Cambridge Open Equity InitiativeCorresponding author onlycambridge.org ↗
MDPINo country waiver scheme; discounts and waivers are discretionary or through institutional membershipCase by casemdpi.com ↗
FrontiersNo country list; fee support is granted case by case on demonstrated needCase by casefrontiersin.org ↗
PLOSFree publication for Research4Life Group A authors without external funding, reduced fees for Group B, and need-based fee assistanceCorresponding author onlyplos.org ↗
BioMed Central (BMC)BMC follows Springer Nature's waiver list: 100% for low-income and 50% for lower-middle income countriesCorresponding author onlyspringernature.com ↗
IGI GlobalWaiver and discount policy not readable on the official pageCase by caseigi-global.com ↗
PensoftDiscounts and waivers set by each journal, including for low and middle income countriesCase by casepensoft.net ↗
Copernicus PublicationsAutomatic 100% waiver for Research4Life Group A and B, and 50% for emerging economiesCorresponding author onlybiogeosciences.net ↗
MIT PressJournal-specific waivers; Quantitative Science Studies waives the full APC for Research4Life countriesCorresponding author onlydirect.mit.edu ↗
Tech Science PressDiscretionary waivers only, no country listCase by casetechscience.com ↗
IntechOpenLimited case-by-case waivers, priority to low-income countriesCase by caseintechopen.com ↗
ThiemeAutomatic 100% waiver for Research4Life Group A and 50% for Group B in gold open access journalsCorresponding author onlythieme.com ↗
Science Advances (AAAS)Automatic full waiver in Science Advances for Research4Life Group A and B, and hardship discountsCorresponding author onlyscience.org ↗
The Royal SocietyAutomatic waiver for corresponding authors in countries on its Open Access Equity listCorresponding author onlyroyalsociety.org ↗
PLOS ONE journalPLOS's own Research4Life fee assistance: free for Group A and USD 940 for Group B (instead of USD 2,477), both only for research without external funding; otherwise need-based fee assistanceNot stated by the journalplos.org ↗
eLifeFee waived for anyone who cannot afford it, decided case by case; no country listCase by caseelifesciences.org ↗
BMJFull waiver only when every author is in a country on BMJ's list and the research is unfunded; partial discounts case by caseEvery authorauthors.bmj.com ↗
Dove Medical Press100% for low-income and 50% for lower-middle income countries, only when every author is eligibleEvery authordovepress.com ↗
American Society for MicrobiologyAutomatic full waiver for Research4Life Group A and a partial waiver for Group BCorresponding author onlyjournals.asm.org ↗
Heliyon journalHeliyon's own discount on request: 100% for authors from Research4Life Group A countries and 50% for Group B, only for research without funding for the APCNot stated by the journalcell.com ↗
Ubiquity PressDiscretionary waivers set by each journalCase by caseubiquitypress.com ↗
KeAiResearch4Life waiver (100% Group A, 50% Group B) set per journal, and many society-sponsored journals with no APCCorresponding author onlykeaipublishing.com ↗
Tsinghua University PressDiscretionary waiver for authors in developing countries without fundingCase by casesciopen.com ↗
University of California Press75% discount for Research4Life Group A and B corresponding authors, plus a fee waiver fundCorresponding author onlyonline.ucpress.edu ↗

Other schemes: Research4Life, EIFL agreements, World Bank income groups, Publisher country lists, Country-tiered APC pricing, National agreements (ONOS India), No APC (diamond and Subscribe to Open), Institutional and read & publish deals. APC waiver checker →

Frequently asked questions

What is Discretionary hardship waivers?

Case-by-case waivers for authors who cannot pay, decided by the publisher or editor. Not guaranteed, and usually requested at submission.

Which publishers use Discretionary hardship waivers for APC waivers?

Among the publishers we checked: Elsevier, Springer Nature, SAGE, Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press, MDPI, Frontiers, PLOS, BioMed Central (BMC), IGI Global, Pensoft, Copernicus Publications, MIT Press, Tech Science Press, IntechOpen, Thieme, Science Advances (AAAS), The Royal Society, PLOS ONE, eLife. Each one decides its own percentages and co-author rule.

Does being on the list guarantee a waiver?

No. The list decides which countries can qualify; each publisher then applies its own rule on whose affiliation counts, on funding and on journal type. Check the publisher page and confirm with the journal before submitting.

Before you submit

Source, method and date. Each publisher's rule was read from its official waiver page (linked on every row) and the country lists from Research4Life, EIFL, the World Bank income classification and the publishers' own lists. Last verified: 27 October 2026. Policies change, Research4Life updates its lists every January and the World Bank every July, and some waivers are temporary or decided case by case. The checker reads the published rules; it cannot promise a waiver. Confirm on the publisher's page before you submit. ScholarsColab is not affiliated with any publisher listed here; logos are trademarks of their owners, shown only to name the publishers whose rules we read.